I always like to dedicate my summers to large projects. Usually knitting projects, but this summer was a bit of an exception.

In January I made a big career shift. I went from being a public librarian at our local public library to an Academic librarian at The University of Alabama. Fundamentals of librarianship are the same in both positions– I am still a public services librarian, meaning I work directly with users to help them access information– but my job is very different.

My title is First Year Experience librarian. The job description couldn’t have been more perfect if I had written it myself. My main responsibilities are to coordinate instruction for freshman composition ( our incoming freshman class this year is 6400) – and plan freshman outreach.

This is relevant to my original question- what did you do over the summer? Because I wrote and produced a zombie film!

