I am finding myself really impatient for the holidays this year. Not just for Christmas, but Thanksgiving as well!

Sweet potato

I know. Thanksgiving is the day after tomorrow. But I couldn’t wait. I made a full Thanksgiving meal, sans Turkey (which was just too much trouble for my tiny kitchen) last Saturday.

Cornbread dressing

Cornbread and Sausage Dressing, Bon Apetit November 2012

Part of the excitement is due to the Thanksgiving issue of Bon Apetit. It has some lovely recipes in it. It was hard to choose a reasonable number of dishes to make for my early feast. I chose 4 plus a desert.

Let me just tell you. The food was amazing on Saturday. And I am confident that if ever I needed to, I could host Thanksgiving at my house without any trouble, and everyone would be well fed. This is a good thing to know.

But I am excited about going home, and enjoying the holiday in the comfort of our family home.

