Last November, I was in the DC-Baltimore area for the wedding of some dear friends. I was in Baltimore for only a few days, but I was in DC for most of a week. My big plan had been to wander the city and eat as much food as possible. What I ended up doing was mostly holing up in my friend Morgan’s apartment preparing for a job interview for the job that I currently have.

One thing I was able to do during my trip was go to Fibre Space with my friend Heidi, who talked me into purchasing a substantial quantity of Miss Babs (“because you can’t get it in Alabama which is almost reason enough, but you are going to love it!”) So, home I trekked with a suitcase full of Navy Blue Miss Babs and no idea what I wanted to do with it. I bought lots of Neighborhood Fiber, a solid favorite of mine, and some dragonfly and some really cool yarn at the farmer’s market. My suitcase was full.

But I had no idea what I wanted to do with the Miss Babs. It’s a heavy worsted weight. I have plenty of it and at first I thought I’d make a sweater. I don’t have any Navy Sweaters. I started one, but I a few inches in I decided it wasn’t what I wanted to do.

So now, a year later, the Miss Babs has been balled and staring at me from my mantelpiece. I put it there to remind me that I wanted to do something with it sooner rather than later. And this week, I started something.

Ashby from Brooklyn Tweed

So, here we go. This will be my biggest and most ambitious cabling project yet. I admit I am quite intimidated. But I love this garment so much, I just have to have it! And it will be lovely with my Miss Babs in Navy Blue.

