Last week was spring break. Unlike most breaks and vacations, I didn’t get much knitting done. I did finish my afghan, and I spent about 2 hours cuddling it’s bequeathed, which was very sweet!

Blanket for Zane

Kate and I spent the second half of spring break with my in-laws in Nashville (Austin was in Toronto for SAA). Friday, my sister Deanna and I went to have our first dress fitting for Christa Rose’s wedding. I had to sport a small pillow under my bridesmaid dress in order to measure for enough room to accommodate a 5-month-pregnant person. It was pretty funny! Deanna and I spent all day together on Friday (except for the few hours that I fell asleep). In the evening, we watched Easter Parade with Fred Astaire and Judy Garland- tradition in our family, and Deanna and Jubilare made yummy baked potatoes with bbq tempa and broccoli. A perfect evening with sisters.

Saturday was the anniversary of my miscarriage, and I was an emotional mess. I cried most of the day, and was rather wretched. Somehow, on that day, I was terrified that I was going to repeat the tragedy. I didn’t. And as far as I know, my little bug is safely nestled inside of me, growing and eating and sleeping just as contentedly as can be. I am finding pregnancy to be a mystical experience. I told my doctor that I was having a hard time comprehending this as reality, and she said that until I can feel the baby move I will have to go on faith. It’s so difficult. But as the reality sinks in, and I start to trust this thing that is happening to me, I am getting more and more excited!

Yesterday I cast on for Kate’s Christmas mittens– I’m making a pair of Twist Collective Horatio and Orens for her (cream and butterscotch Koigu)

