So, my little bug has been home for seven weeks, and he is 15 weeks old, but I haven’t posted any pictures of him in hand-knits yet. I admit, after the hectic NICU experience, I have been savoring the peace and quiet of being home. I was able to go back to work intermittently while Owen was in the hospital and save my precious leave time for his homecoming. So, the other day I was checking feedly and noticed that my sweet friend over at RangerSarah has had her little one, and has posted at least one hand-knits photo, and it was so fun to see, so I decided to take a few minutes to share some of our pictures 🙂

Very Hungry Caterpillar Hat and Cocoon

Untitled

I originally made this as a meet the grandparents outfit. Owen wasn’t due until Nov. 6th, but since he came at the end of August, this immediately became his Halloween costume. I couldn’t resist putting it on him the night before he came home from the hospital- we got to room in with him for that last night (talk about magic- sleeping with your baby at arms reach for the first time, after 8 weeks of a hospital stay is absolutely magical!)

Untitled

This hat has been lots of fun. I improvised it one afternoon while sitting in the NICU

Untitled

Jayne Cobb Hat

If you’ve followed me for long, you know I’m  married to a shameless fan-boy and that I am an enabler. A few years ago I knit Austin a Jayne Cobb hat, and it’s one of his most treasured possessions. Well, how could I resist. I surprised him with a Jayne hat for O, and now they trapes around like twinkies.

IMG_2790

O and A Thanksgiving

Yesterday, he was able to wear his February sweater for the first time. He’s finally big enough to fit in the smallest sized baby knits 🙂

imageimage

I had been expecting to have a larger baby- 8 or 9 lbs (rather than 3 lbs)- so I didn't make a whole lot of tiny stuff. Knitting with an infant is challenging, so I've not gotten a whole lot done since he was born (other than the two hats). I've started the Rufus Textured Sweater (I have a sleeve and a half to finish).

I'll try to post again before Christmas, but if I don't I hope you all have a very Merry holiday season!

