Untitled

Here in baby-land, we’re figuring things out. It’s amazing how difficult normal day-to-day life is with an infant!

But then, he is so cute! And he’s doing so well. This little guy is 5 months old, 12 lbs, 23 inches long and very engaged. He started smiling over Christmas, and my heart melts Every. Single. Time.
Untitled

He and Emma got matching Christmas hats. They EZ Ganomy hats  made from some left-over Opus. Very cute. Very soft. He’ll not be able to wear it for long though, cause he’s growing SO FAST!

Life with baby O has brought so much change. We are cloth diapering and loving it. We are nursing strong. We wear him out in a sling and haven’t missed having a stroller or a baby bucket carrier at all.

Untitled
Sleep hasn’t been an issue either, and in the past couple of weeks we have actually started sleeping all the way through the night (last night I ended up waking him because I needed him to nurse.) And we are finding our way through the labyrinth of baby advice from all directions (I’ve learned, mostly, to just tune everyone else out and go with my instincts.) I have returned to work, but only half time until Owen’s first birthday, and that is wonderful. I am loving being back at work. And I’m loving that I only work until lunch time and then I go back to my little other world, filled with cooing, pooping, growing baby.

Although simple things like running errands and cooking dinner have become much more challenging, we’ve been amazed at how well O has adapted to our social life– and how well our social life has adapted to O. Our friends have been awesome. Owen sleeps in his sling while we play games or eat at restaurants, and cuddles with us on the sofa when we watch movies. We kind of expected to play out the whole Catherine Tate Baby On Board sketch for the next year, but it’s not been like that at all!

 

All of this is really to say I am absolutely LOVING being a mama, and it’s so much more than I ever expected it could be.

 
Untitled

